18 The Tree of Yoga

17. March 2022

BKS Iyengar‘s representation of the eight limbs of Yoga as described in his book “Tree of Yoga”

1 The roots YAMAS Foundation for living honorable and clearly 
2 The trunk NIYAMAS establishing a base of purity in one’s body and mind 
3 the branches ASANA physical practice of yoga postures 
4 the leaves PRANAYAMA discipline of the breath 
5 the bark PRATYAHARA turning awareness inward, sense withdrawal
6 the sap DHARANA concentration 
7 the flower DHYANA meditation 
8 the fruit SAMADHI a state of Joy and Peace 

Prev Post Next Post